Migration - Overview
Endpoint Cloud's migration feature makes it easy to transfer user profile settings from one device to another. Using the migration feature can save you a lot of time and effort when you need to upgrade or replace your devices.
Profile settings migration
With the profile settings migration feature, you can back up the user data and profile settings on a device to Endpoint Cloud. You can then restore them to another device. This makes it easier and quicker to transfer common user data, such as desktop shortcuts, desktop files, documents, etc.
To use the migration feature, you need to enable it on the Policy that is used by the device you want to replace.
When migration is enabled, Endpoint Cloud will make a backup of the user data and profile settings. This takes place at the same time as the next business data backup (as defined in the Policy).
When the user data and profile settings have been backed up, you can restore them to a new device.
Let's say you have a laptop that is backed up and protected by Endpoint Cloud. The laptop is going to be replaced with a newer model.
You use the migration feature to back up the user data and profile settings from the current laptop.
When the new laptop arrives, you will discover and activate the device on Endpoint Cloud. You then use the Restore feature to transfer the old laptop's user data and profile settings from Endpoint Cloud to the new laptop.
Your new laptop is updated with the user data and profile settings (Outlook profile and signatures, mapped network drives and various folder and taskbar settings etc.).